Am I arrogant?

28 Apr

Amazing how many times we say I in an hour. I have counted it and I think that I already am around 25 times saying it. I don’t think that’s too much, but then again i am not an expert. I don’t think you will be surprised if I say that I don’t say ‘you’ so often. As most of the time I am explaining things to you, so you are listening while I speak. And when you speak I am quiet, which means I am not saying ‘you’.

Am I really so arrogant that I feel the urge to keep pushing myself forward every few sentences I use? When I listen to others, I can’t but agree with the fact that the language we all speak is pretty arrogant. Or we just want to be very clear about the messenger, which I am when I speak to you. What can it be? It’s amazing when you are alert about it and start talking to others. You will find that no one thinks it’s weird but you will smile, if not visible, you will from the inside. While you are explaining what good deeds you did, you will be promoting yourself. You are not saying ‘ by the help of others, we can reach the following’. You will say a sentence more like “I have delivered you x with the help of others”.

Don’t be surprised or worried. It’s not an issue how many times you say I, as long as you are aware of it. Before you know it, you are only talking about you. You are a pretty small island in the world of people, interpretations, feelings, needs and achievements. How are you related to others and how do they relate to you?

Don’t feel bad for knowing who you are and what you can/ can’t do. You should only feel bad if you don’t know what others mean to you. How do they complete you and make you feel that your existence is meaningful? Your existence depends on yourself but by relating to others you will feel more satisfied and that helps you grow. Grow into the person you already are.

Don’t be arrogant, but have a good self-esteem. Know yourself and know the ones that are close to you. Be the best you can!

One Response to “Am I arrogant?”

  1. Abdellah April 28, 2011 at 9:56 AM #

    Nice blog! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

